PDA

View Full Version : First Ever Hike And Need Help

CHRIS
08-20-2007, 02:20 PM
Hello all I am a newbie here and need your help. I have driven up Mount Washington a dozen times and I really want to get into hiking.The last time I went up was for the sunrise earlier this month and it was a dream come true for I have always wanted to go up in the dark. I am looking at hopefully hiking up MW. around late Sept.I have a few questions and I feel kinda stupid asking all these questions but any help would be appreciated. I mainly want to make sure I am prepared. I plan on doing more hikes if not this year definetly next year. any way here we go.
1. what gear should I start buying for day trips?
2. which trail would be a good one to start on @ MW.
3. is there any pointers or reviews on products or on trails anybody can give me?
I have been wanting to get into hiking for many years and have never been able to for reason or another but now the time has come and I am dying to get out there. I hope to someday start doing some over nite hikes.
Thanks for any help anybody can give me. "Happy Hiking"

Brad
08-21-2007, 05:29 AM
Chris,

Welcome to the board. First off I would suggest starting your hiking with other peaks and working up to MW. It is not a great place to be if you find you have gone beyond your abilities at this time. Wherever you start hiking be willing to turn around if the situation calls for it. Be conservative.

For summer daytime hiking the key things are a comfortable pack - good high top shoes with good traction and ankle support - a way of carrying water (like a camelpak).

No matter what time of year you want to have layers of clothes. In the summer this would be a lightweight outer layer or shell for wind and rain protection - a layer for warmth in case you get caught with the temp going down like last weekend - and a light weight layer to get down to if it gets warm. Everyone will say that cotton is not a good thing to have at all. Lightweight is key.