PDA

View Full Version : Summit Radio Expeditions

tpmcd
12-15-2007, 12:04 AM
I'm curious to know if any past or present staff or volunteers are ham radio operators and whether or not they've done any operating from the top? That elevation would certainly be nice.

Tim (ARS N9PUZ)

Mike D
12-15-2007, 01:49 PM
I'm not aware of any recent staff members who have done this, but maybe there's someone out there from the past who knows...

Indoor reception is limited by the northern orientation of the building and the thick concrete walls. When I was an intern, though, I could hear CBC radio loud and clear. I also got an AM station that I think was out of Rochester, NY.

Brad
12-15-2007, 04:26 PM
I'm curious to know if any past or present staff or volunteers are ham radio operators and whether or not they've done any operating from the top? That elevation would certainly be nice.

Tim (ARS N9PUZ)
Growing up in RI I used to listen to ham operators all over the world at night. The summit would be such a great location. How about becoming a volunteer and seeing how it works - and give us updates here on the forum?

Charlie
12-15-2007, 09:36 PM
well i would give it a try but all i have is a handheld for 2 meter
N3WGV

EricJ
12-16-2007, 02:23 PM
Joe Dodge brought shortwave to the top in 1926. The lower bands of Ham are in these frequencies.

h2oeco
12-16-2007, 03:47 PM
I am licensed, but have little or no equipment. I will be up at the summit as a volunteer in late March, and would be willing to give someone's handheld a try.

Ed

hobbes
12-17-2007, 10:09 AM
Thanks for the reminder that I really should get a new license one of these days :)

formerly PY1-YAU

Mike D
12-18-2007, 03:47 PM
There is a ham repeater on the summit:

Location Output Offset Input AutoPatch/PL Call Sign
Mt Washington 146.655 - 146.055 100.0 W1NH

List of repeaters in NH:
http://www.artscipub.com/repeaters/states/New-Hampshire.asp