PDA

View Full Version : Considering doing Seek the Peak...

h2oeco
04-12-2008, 04:49 PM
I am considering doing Seek the Peak this year (haven't signed up yet). I have some hiking experience, but have only hiked on Mount Washington a little bit. I'm wondering what to expect. i.e. - what is a "typical" time for getting up and/or down? What is a good trail to start with?

Thanks for your help, ideas, and information.

Ed

Brad
04-12-2008, 05:12 PM
I like going up Lions Head - gets you out in the open with great views. Then summit and down Tuckermans. If you feel the whole thing is too much, then go to the Junction after getting above treeline and down Tuckermans without the summit portion. Still a great day.

This way you are also close to dinner when you get down.

Tim&Val
04-13-2008, 08:04 AM
Last year for STP, Tim & I went the same way as Brad. The views are very nice. I don't know what's 'typical' or 'book time' for that hike, but we started at 7:30am and got to the summit around 11:30... left the summit around 12:30 and finished at 3:30pm.

I was very slow and deliberate on the downhill hiking in Tucks. Others do that downhill faster than I.

I've also done the Ammonoosuc Ravine Trail to Crawford Path. I like this trail a lot!! On STP day, this trail probably gets less traffic than the trails that lead from/to Pinkham, because as Brad said, the dinner's on the Pinkham side of the mountain.

Valerie

Bill O
04-13-2008, 08:26 AM
The typical book time for a round trip is around 8 hours. At just over 8 miles you can imagine thats a fairly slow pace.

Either way, nobody said you have to make it to the summit to participate in STP. You could always just hike to Lions Head or enjoy the deck at Hermit Lake.

Brad
04-13-2008, 08:36 AM
That is why it is called "Seek" The Peak.