PDA

View Full Version : Winter Hiking

CHRIS
12-01-2008, 12:30 PM
Does anybody know of a place that I could get a list for what I should have in my pack etc. for winter hiking? I am in the process of getting snow shoes and microspikes. I have a really warm snow boarding jacket and ski pants that I assume will be good enough to hike with. I also have to get some good base layers. Any help onto where I can find a list or recommendations on what gear to have would be appreciated. This is my first attempt @ winter hiking. Thanks in advance.

BlueDog
12-01-2008, 12:50 PM
I found this list on EMS site the other night for their snowshow outing to Lonesome Lake Hut (http://www.emstrek.com/lonesomelake.html). Seems like a pretty good place to start.

Bags
Daypack with rain cover (2,000-3,000cu in)
Waterproof compression sack (to keep cloths dry)

Body
Insulated jacket (waterproof)
Insulated pants (waterproof)
Fleece pullover
Fleece pants
Long underwear
3 long sleeved shirts (Techwick or other wicking material)

Hands
Glove liners
Insulated gloves
Hand warmers

Feet
Winter hiking boots (Gore-Tex)
Gaiters (optional)
3 pairs of socks (synthetic or wool blend)

Head
Hat (wool or fleece)
Sunglasses
Balaclava

Other Equipment
Hydration system (camelback & bladder or 2 one liter water bottles)
Headlamp or flashlight
Bandana
Camera
Sleeping bag (32 degree or lower)
Toiletries (including baby wipes, ear plugs, toothbrush/paste, deodorant, etc?)
Plastic garbage bag and zip lock bag
Book, playing cards, iPod, evening entertainment
Trekking poles (provided upon request)
Snowshoes (provided upon request)

Food & Drink
Water, hydration mix, gels, energy bars
Lunch & snacks (sandwich, trail mix, fruit, etc?)

CHRIS
12-01-2008, 01:16 PM