PDA

View Full Version : another picture of the calf bull moose in the Swift River

forestgnome
01-13-2009, 06:01 PM
This one is kinda cute. I used the dodge and burn tools in Photoshop Elements II for the first time, after Jim Salge provided this link to a tutorial.

http://www.photoshopessentials.com/photo-editing/dodge-burn/

Thanks, Jim!

This is my first try at this technique. I have dodged the dark part of the image (calf/subject), but I have not burned the light part (snow).

before...

http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l190/forestgnome/139-copy1.jpg

after...

http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l190/forestgnome/139DB1.jpg

happy trails :)

JimS
01-13-2009, 06:08 PM
I commented over at VFTT, but I'll tell you here as well that the improvement is huge!

The contrasts on the from the camera shot are just too strong between the white snow, and the dark moose with no light on it. You exposed it perfectly for the highlights, and can resurect the shadows with a digital version of this classic technique. Great work.

Did you find the technique easy to work with?

Jim

mtruman
01-14-2009, 09:10 AM
I got so caught up looking at the image details (which are excellent after the adjustments) that I almost lost sight of what a great picture this is. The look on his face is priceless!

Brad
01-14-2009, 10:28 AM
I got so caught up looking at the image details (which are excellent after the adjustments) that I almost lost sight of what a great picture this is. The look on his face is priceless!
Jim's expressions are the subject of countless stories.

mtruman
01-14-2009, 12:34 PM
Jim's expressions are the subject of countless stories.

I thought Patrick was the only moose here...

Brad
01-14-2009, 01:18 PM
I thought Patrick was the only moose here...
One is never quite sure about Jim.

Can this technique be done in Adobe Elements? Or just in Photoshop?

JimS
01-14-2009, 03:34 PM
One is never quite sure about Jim.