PDA

View Full Version : When does Mt W become a "hike" instead of a "climb" ?

GPB
03-16-2009, 03:45 PM
I am athletic and in good shape and am looking to hike up to the summit of Mt Washington. How early can I plan a hike without having to bring ice axes, snow shoes, and crampons ? I will of course be prepared for cold weather and the possibility of snow, as I have read that it can snow at the summit any time of year, but I am looking for a vigorous hike rather than a climb, since I have no experience in that arena. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Bill O
03-16-2009, 05:19 PM
Unless there is unusual late snowfall (May 1996) early June is usually safe. As soon as the Lion Head summer route opens that is a sure sign.

If you go to the west side of the mountain it may be earlier. I know the Lion Head summer route opened in early May one year I was there.

Knapper
03-16-2009, 11:34 PM
May is usually when we start to melt out but by the sounds of it, you are aiming for more June type weather. But then again, it all depends on your intended trails. August is usually when the summit has the warmest temperatures, least likely month to get snow (but we can and you still have to worry about Thunderstorms), month with the lowest 10 year average winds and the black flies are not as abundant. But even in the winter, people just hike this mountain. Climbing is more confined to Hunington's and a few other locations. But, I guess that comes down to what you consider "climbing" vs "hiking".

GPB
03-17-2009, 12:48 AM
Thanks for the feedback Knapper. Since my original post, a few other questions have occured to me that I'd like to hear people's thoughts on. Do any authorities monitor a channel on the GMRS radio's. For example on a marine radio the Coast Guard always monitors Channel 16 for emergencies.