PDA

View Full Version : Best place to live in northern NH?

krummholz
04-04-2009, 11:43 AM
Due to a change in my personal circumstances, I am planning to sell my house in Gloucester, Mass., and move somewhere in the White Mountain region so that I can be right near the mountains I love to hike in. I'm a freelance editor, which means I don't have a lot of money but I can do my work from anyplace that I park my computer. I'd like to buy a small inexpensive house that hopefully has some trees around it.

So...any thoughts? Littleton? Lincoln? Gorham? Conway? Plymouth? Whitefield? Colebrook? (etc., etc.).... Just off the top of your head--impressions, ideas welcome!:)

Jenny B. (a.k.a. krummholz)

hobbes
04-04-2009, 12:14 PM
When we decided to move north (from Northern Virginia), we rented a house for a year to get a feel for the area and see what the community was like to live in. Although I had been coming to the Mount Washington Valley for 20 years prior (on vacation), I figured until I lived here I wouldn't know it that well. As a result we ended up buying a house in a neighborhood we didn't even know about near Conway Lake beach, and have been quite pleased with the choice (great neighbors, mountains nearby, kayaking a short distance away, ...). Frankly, the only thing that would make it better is if it was more of a "college town," but all the other great things about this place (and people too) more than make up for it.

Brad
04-04-2009, 05:51 PM
I would probably look at the Gorham and Randolph areas. Far enough away from the summer crowds but you can get to a bigger town (N Conway) pretty easily. I have a friend in Randolph and the trails go right past his house.

FisherCat
04-04-2009, 09:24 PM
Just get north of the Notches and you will be fine, trust me I know, I'm from Jefferson!:D