PDA

View Full Version : A few questions for a first timer...

amy
07-15-2009, 01:37 PM
Hi All,

I have signed up for seek the peak and am excited to head to the summit.

I have a few questions as a new hiker:

Can my dog join me on the hike and should she stay on her leash or is she free to go anywhere?

I am relatively new to mountain hikes - but am a runner/cyclist who is fit. I am looking for a trail recommendation that will be challenging but okay for the up and down on Saturday.

On Sunday I would like to stay and do some more hiking - recommendations?

I am a solo hiker -- should I be weary of anything in particular (I assume because it is seek the peak there will be many people on the trails...)

Is there camping at the bottom?

Any advice/information/comments are greatly appreciated!

Thank you so much!!

mtruman
07-15-2009, 05:06 PM
Welcome Amy - both to the forums and to Seek the Peak. To answer at lease some of your questions...

Yes, dogs are OK. Most are off leash (hopefully yours is friendly). You'll meet plenty of other canines on the trail.

There's no worry about hiking solo - there will be lots of others on any trail you take. With 400 signed up for STP plus the usual July Saturday crowd the trick will be finding any solitude ;)

The best choice for trails is probably one of the combination starting from Pinkham Notch Visitors Center. This is the official send-off spot for STP and is the closest to the dinner at the end. There are a number of possible combinations that work well. We will be going up the Lion Head trail and down the Tuckermans Ravine headwall. You can also do this in reverse. Another option is Boott Spur in combination with Tuckermans and/or Lion Head (this one is a bit longer). I'll leave it to the others here that have been up and down way more times than me to make a recommendation but we really liked the Lion Head up Tucks down route last year.