PDA

View Full Version : Sucessful first-time climb, yay!

redthorne
08-24-2009, 01:03 PM
Saturday was my first time climbing Mt. Washington, and I must say it was quite a joy! I met so many nice people on the way up and the way back, it was wonderful to have someone to chat with. Mt. Washington can make you look inside yourself and test your will, knowledge of the outdoors, and if you are prepared...allows you to enjoy nature in a unique way.

Although I am by no means a novice hiker or novice survivalist, my mentality with challenging Washington was that I would know nothing. Therfore I learned, confirmed, and read everything about 5 times. Most of the hikes I go on around here in Western MA as of course much, much, smaller. (yeah, yeah, "flatlander" yada yada :) ) "Be prepared for anything." So, I was, and I thus had a wonderful experience. I had the knowledge, just not the practical experience. I am glad to have taken the first step in learning about the higher peaks.

I was flying solo and as such I made many contingency plans to avoid problems. Three people knew my possible routes, of which there were only two. They also knew my expected time back. I committed to not deviate from these routes unless extreme emergency dictated. I also signed the log books and planned on the fact that if for some weird reason there were no other hikers on the trail I would not continue.

I took Tuck's up. The weather was a spittling of rain, nothing too bad. At Hermit lake I put on the rain pants and rain jacket, rested a bit, and chatted with two young men that were on the way up. (they had done it before and were obviously prepared)

At this time I scratched my head at some of the people coming through with sneakers, cotton socks/shirts, and jean shorts. Nothing but a few candy bars and one nalgene bottle for water... Um, ok, whatever floats your boat.