PDA

View Full Version : 1st timer here.

ski41
10-02-2009, 01:11 AM
Hi everyone. I just regestered, it's my first time posting and I thought I'd say hello.. Now, as expected. I do have a question or two. Because of prior commitments, I'm way too busy to do much hiking or much outdoor activities this fall. but the winter and spring is comming up. Anyway, to my question. I am "thinking" of planning a trip next summer to climb Mt. Washington. Where can I find any info about this? besides reading here , which I plan on doing. Also. what route would be the easiest? and on average, how long (in hours) does it take to climb and decend? I am physicaly in pretty good shape. mentally sometimes that is questionable....

Any help you guys can offer would be greatly appreciated.
I'm sure I'll think of more questions later.
Thanks.

Snow Miser
10-02-2009, 10:14 AM
Welcome ski41! Some ideas I can think of besides asking questions here would be to check this site http://home.earthlink.net/~ellozy/ . It describes the trial options, times, etc. All the routes up are challenging, but if you're in shape and properly prepared, you can do it.

Another option is to pickup a copy of the AMC White Mountain Guide. It covers the entire White Mountains, but explains alot about Mt Washington. I recently bought my first copy, and it is excellent. You may find after hiking Mt Washington, you will want to try to make it back to do some of the other mountains.

Also, you may consider joining the Observatory before doing your hike. If you do, then when you get to the summit, you can take a tour which is very nice to do.

Good luck!

Addicted
10-02-2009, 12:34 PM