PDA

View Full Version : any suggestion for a first hike?

JenCell
11-19-2009, 12:22 PM
I'M from quebec, would like to hike in the white mountain this week-end.
What would you suggest for a first hike in the region ?

njgail11
11-19-2009, 09:03 PM
I am no expert, but i would suggest Mount Willard. Me and my husband love this hike. Location is in Crawford Notch area trail head is located behind the Crawford Dept information center off US 302. I think anyone would agree very nice hike. Hope this helps.

Anna LeBlanc
11-19-2009, 09:29 PM
I am no expert, but i would suggest Mount Willard. Me and my husband love this hike. Location is in Crawford Notch area trail head is located behind the Crawford Dept information center off US 302. I think anyone would agree very nice hike. Hope this helps.

This is a great first hike.Your pretty much in the trees to the summit ledges so even if the weather turns out not to be the greatest you'll still be in good shape.Really good views for very little effort.:)

Another one you might want to try is Arethusa Falls.Also off Rte.302.Enjoy yourselves.

Anna

hobbes
11-20-2009, 07:29 AM
You don't specify your ability, but the above are great hikes. Another fairly easy hike is Black Cap, or if you're looking for a little more challenge go with Kearsarge, both in North Conway.

smithtim
11-20-2009, 08:42 AM
If you are coming down I-93 there is also a few good trail heads right of the interstate in franconia notch state park which is more on the east side of the whites; not as grand as the stuff around mt wash but still a few good options over there

Mt. Liberty / Flume is a good one day challenging loop trail ( class 3 partly above treeline & pretty challenging) if you do that loop just make sure you ascent up Flume slide as it is very very tough to come down that way... Or Mt. Lafayette / Lincoln is another one that is not so challenging (maybe class 2?)

http://www.nhstateparks.org/uploads/FranconiaNotchHikingTrailsMapWeb.pdf