PDA

View Full Version : Boot to hike Mt. Washington?

Nick378
01-23-2010, 06:20 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to winter hiking and I was wondering what kind of boot should I wear to hike comfortably Mt. Washington in March?

I was looking for a pair of Lowa Tectrek GTX with a good merino sock over a lining sock. Would it works?

Thanks for helping me, choosing the right pair of boot can be a pain sometimes...

Bill O
01-23-2010, 08:36 PM
Assuming it can hold a crampon that boot is probably fine.

Although, if this is a one-time ascent you may want to consider renting plastic boots.

Outside of Mount Washington in March what are you planning on using these boots for?

Nick378
01-24-2010, 10:30 AM
I was thinking about doing all season trekking/hiking with those. I'm a bit afraid that they could be too hot for summer walk, these having gore tex...

I doubt that a plastic boot would be as comfortable though, but I might try my old one.I still have to go climb Villarica volcano in 3 weeks also and I definitely won't do it with plastic boot. So I'm looking for an 3 season boot which can resist at snow once in a while, assuming I will treat the boots with the appropriate stuff.

Any other suggestion? I'm willing to pay between 150-200.

mtruman
01-24-2010, 03:26 PM
I think you're going to have a tough time finding a boot that is appropriate for MW in winter that will also serve for 3-season use. If you don't already have crampons and other winter gear you're going to need to rent those anyway so probably best to just rent the plastic mountaineering boots with the crampons. Several good rental places in the area. IME in North Conway is probably your best bet.

Nick378
01-24-2010, 08:03 PM
Yeah I already have everything. I might just stick with my old pair of nubuck boots with best the socks I can find.

I have gaiters also. I might be able to do it with that. hopefully..

mtruman
01-25-2010, 07:06 AM