PDA

View Full Version : Lions head is it safe?

Milzey344
02-04-2010, 04:49 PM
I am a novice climber and will be attempting to climb Mount Washington
in late February with a guide. I have been on Washington once before,
never got very high. Didn't make Lionshead. Conditions were pretty bad.

Is the Lions head winter climbing route dangerous for a beginning climber?
I have heard it is steep, but is it technical? I have limited skills and
only basic training and knowledge of crampons, ice axe, self arrest. I
feel pretty inexperienced.

Could someone give me some clothing tips. I got a gear list but don't
know what to bring. Last time I got very hot and sweaty on the Tuckerman
trail, the guide suggested I was overdressed.

Knapper
02-05-2010, 12:21 AM
Mount Washington can be as safe or as dangerous as you make it. If you get to a point where the weather is too bad or the trail isn't to your liking and you turn back then the climb was safe but if you continue on in extreme weather and get lost then it becomes dangerous. That's not to say that all dangers are from human error as it can be prone to avalanches and other phenomena. But it sounds like you have experienced the bad weather it offers if you didn't make it to Lionhead and therefore not the summit proper in the past.

Lionshead is steep but it isn't a technical climb like Huntington Ravine is this time of year. It is a demanding trail but you have started with some of the right things for a first time climb: ice ax, crampons, and guide. A good guide (and all from the area I know are) will show you all you need to know to get up the mountain and will help you make good decisions along the way.