PDA

View Full Version : Hikes to do in winter??

vgravel
02-09-2007, 11:31 AM
Hello All,

I am experienced summer and snowshoe hiker but i'm still a newbie in axe and crampons hikes.

Since going for the Mount Washington summit is probably not a good idea, do you have an hike to suggest me?

I'm taking a axe and crampons course this weekend and I would like to put what I will learn in practice in the beatiful White Mountains...

Thanks a lot!!

Vincent

Bill O
02-09-2007, 04:15 PM
Why don't you work your way up to Lion's Head? It's a steep snow climb without the exposure of heading to the summit.

Although, if you decide to glissade please take off your crampons. Same thing if you are practicing self-arrest with your axe, no crampons!

climbabout
02-09-2007, 04:57 PM
Bill. - good choice - I was going to suggest the exact same hike - the nice thing is that its relatively protected while below treeline and it's not so commiting that you can pretty much bail out and turn around at any time - depending on the amount of snow and ice cover there can also be a few tricky spots. The protection of the trees also allow you to get to treeline in nasty conditions, and "stick your nose out" into the wind. A good but still challenging hike to practice your cramponing skills from your course. Nothing says you have to summit to enjoy Mt Washington while you are learning.
Tim

KD Talbot
02-09-2007, 07:45 PM