Thread: Mount Washington First Time - Suggestions

Thanks

Default Mount Washington First Time - Suggestions

Hey Folks,

I'm a college Freshman and my friend and I are planning, hopefully, to hike Mt. Washington on Wednesday. Both of us are pretty experienced hikers, having spent some time in the Parks out West.

What trail would you recommend? We want to get up and down in one day - so that has some affect on the length. Just looking for some suggestions.

As far as gear is concerned, how extensive do we need to go? Will simple rain gear and a fleece be okay, or do we need more?

Thanks for all your help in advance!

Thanks

Welcome to the forum. Day hikes to the summit right now are typically via Tuckermans trail to Lions Head trail. As for proper gear, you should be ready for anything on this mountain. For spring through fall hikes in the White Mountains I carry the following gear in a 30L pack.

Fleece Jacket
    Rain gear (top & bottom)
    Long & short sleeve synthetic shirt
    Driclime pants (optional)
    Warm hat
    Glove liners (optional)
    Lightweight windstopper gloves
    Synthetic hiking socks (2 pair)
    Sun hat
    Convertible pants
    Backpack
    Headlamp
    Poles
    Hiking boots
    Water bottles/food
    Camera & batteries
    Map & map case
    Sunglasses
    String
    Knife
    Whistle

Have fun!

Thanks

Default million dollar question