Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking for Advice on Seek the Peak

Thanks

Exclamation Looking for Advice on Seek the Peak

A few questions I would like the answer to are, Where do people who know the area suggest we stay overnight? What would people who have done this before advise as far as the trails to go and come down, also, how difficult would this be for a first timer? Approximate length of time for newcomers to make the hike up and the hike down? Are the trails easy to follow for a newcomer? Is there cell phone service on the mountain? I would like to take trails that are popular with other people because I have never done this before, so haing people to ask would be beneficial to us. Does anybody else smoke, although I smoke I am in good shape although the smoking is a concern. There doesn't appear to be much advice for new people wanting to take part in this.

Thanks

A lot of where you stay will depend on what route of ascent you plan on taking. Generally I stay in North Conway or I camp out. It's more about how I feel than a matter of convieniece. Weather will play a big part in what trails to ascend. If it's a clear dry day I'd go with the Ammo trail to the summit & back down again. You can even summit Mt. Monroe while your at it if you take the Ammo trail.

Most climbers start at Pinkham Notch & go up the Tuckermans Ravine trail to the summit. If you want a less traveled route that is rougher but has better views of the ravine you can go up Tucks trail to Lions Head. Then take the Tucks trail again (at the top of the ravine) to the summit & back down.

Book time is 4-5 hours from Pinkham Notch to the summit (one way) for the average fit hiker & the trails are well marked. Cell service is spotty at best. I can't comment on the smoking issue but it will have some effect on your climbing. How much remains to be seen.

Good luck & I'll see you on the mountain.

Thanks