Thread: Hiking washington for 1st time, questions

Hybrid View

john tran Guest

Default Hiking washington for 1st time, questions

hi,

i plan on hiking washington this sunday with 2 buddies of mine. i am a novice hiker, other is completely inexperienced and the 3rd has plenty of experience and has hiked washington 3-4 times. BUT NEVER in the snow. i hear that it may snow this weekend on the summit.

what i am curious about is if it is wise for the 3 of us (a few more may come) to make this hike. i have heard how dangerous it is but i wanted to make sure it would be safe for us before we made the 2.5-3 hour drive up. we are all over 22 and are responsible.

thanks for your time,

john

p.s.- what gear should we bring?
    extra clothes, first aid kit etc.. anything else?

MarkO Guest

I'll be hiking this weekend as well. Crawford Path
    I've hiked the Tuckerman Ravine trail many times in the past to ski in late spring, early summer. This will be the lastest in the season I have hiked.
    Weather is obviously an important factor, and it's looking like there will probably be some precip. Sunday. Whether it's rain, sleet or snow or a combination of the 3 is not known at this time. But you best plan for all three!!!
    Also, map out your route and guage how long you think it will take. For a novice, you can plan on 2 MPH + 1 hour additional for each 1000' gained. But don't forget sometimes you need to go down to go up. So factor that in as well. Also look into escape routes should you get into trouble.
    Remember, above treeline is where a lot of the danger lies!
    Here's a list of things to bring:
    http://www.outdoors.org/recreation/h...iking-gear.cfm

john tran Guest

hey mark,

we are all in pretty good physical condition.. i've been training for timberman next year (half ironman), we are pretty much fast hikers. the only thing we are really worried about is the weather past the tree line.