Thread: Question about hiking in the Whites with a dog

Thanks

Default Question about hiking in the Whites with a dog

Hello all,

This is my first time posting. I am heading up to the white mts. to do some hiking and camping. I'll probably arrive Sat/Sun. I have my dog with me. He's an agile and fit Australian Shepherd, but I heard that dogs paws can get cut on the trail to the summit of Mt. Washington (and perhaps other summits). Does anyone have experience taking their dog to the Mt. Washington Summit? The highest he's ever been to this point was about 3500 ft., although I've been up higher (Mt. Shasta in CA). I'm more worried about his paws than the elevation.

Thanks in advance,
    Kendra

Thanks

Default Paws

Yes, the quartzite and micha schist make-up of the rocks above treeline on MW can do a number on soft paws. If your dog has tough pads from walking on asphalt and rocks, he should be OK, but if he's a tenderfoot, keep an eye on the situation and turn back if he's bleeding. Many of us use Mushers Secret which is basically for sled dogs to run on ice, but it works well on the rocks, too. You should be able to find it in a well supplied pet store. Definitely on-line, but if you're leaving tomorrow it's too late for that. A good coating of vaseline above treeline may work, too. Rub it in well, and when you stop to rest, check his pads. Make sure he doesn't pick up any gravel in the vaseline.

My dog doesn't seem to have a problem above treeline, but her pads are tough from spending a lot of time climbing the rocks in the Whites.

Good luck and we always expect a trip report and pictures when we give advice! Welcome to the forum!

KDT

Thanks

Though we don't have a dog to hike with anymore, you may also find those who do favor certain trails that are more canine-friendly than others. Anyone with any advice?

Thanks

Default Thanks.