Thread: Oct advice please - first time MW

Thanks

Default Oct advice please - first time MW

Hi - I am new to the forum and to MW (other than driving up years ago!). I am a Texan, but I have many years experience hiking the Rockies and desert - just off Elbert on July 4, 5K foot gain over 6 miles with some good scrambles, so terrain is not a problem, BUT this crazy wind you folks have could be. I am thinking about a MW hike the week of Oct 15-18, which I think is a bit late, but the only time I have as I must fit this into another "event" I am coming up East for. I checked the weather page and it looks like low 20s to mid 30s with lots of variation (down) from that. What about the wind and snow? I have the gear for whatever, but I am taking this weather on MW seriously. I would be climbing with an even more experienced Colorado friend - 22 14s and counting - but would appreciate some "heads-up" from the "locals." We have discussed a traverse from Franconia Notch along Garfield to MW, but perhaps that might be a bit ambitious for mid Oct with no experience in the area, so just a day hike up MW might work too. We will have a couple of days to watch the weather, but if it is generally regarded as poor during this time frame, we may want to wait for a more favorable period later, and put our efforts elsewhere. I know it could be a sunny, calm and balmy 35 for three days straight - or the opposite, but any thoughts/advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

It could go either way. More likely than not it will be just fine. I'd plan on hiking and make your weather call that morning.

If it does snow in October it is usually confined to the highest part of the mountain and may be just a dusting or light rime coating.

Come prepared and make weather decisions as needed. Sounds like you guys know what you are doing.
    Bill
    Next up: Vermont City Marathon: May, 2011
    EasternLight

Thanks

Default October