Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: the Aurora Borealis

Thanks

Default the Aurora Borealis

Hi! This is my first time posting on the MWO forum, but this fall will be about my 8th time backpacking in the White Mountains. Traditionally, my dad and I hike Mt. Washington, but this time we'll be hiking into Crag Camp with a good sized group and will probably summit Mt. Adams. Although I'm big into backpacking my trips are always in the summer....this will be my first fall attempt. What I'm really excited about is the possibility of seeing the Aurora Borealis. I know it can be seen from even down in the valleys in NH in the winter, but I was wondering if October was a good month for it. If it is, my dad and I are gonna strap on headlamps and possibly summit at night. It's a huge dream of mine to see the Northern Lights, so if anyone has any information they could offer I'd be really grateful. Thanks!

Thanks

October is a better than average month for seeing the northern lights.

I have to admit though, its a total crapshoot seeing the northern lights in NH. In this part of the world they are only visible a few nights a year and the odds of it being cloudy are pretty high.

If your life long dream is to see the aurora you're gonna have to go north, much farther north. Otherwise you just have to get lucky.

On the other hand. If I had to pick a location in NH to see the aurora it would be on top of Mount Washington. That's your best chance. Plus, if you are prepared a night hike it could be worth it with or without the aurora.
    Bill
    Next up: Vermont City Marathon: May, 2011
    EasternLight

Thanks

While it is a crapshoot to see the aurora, you can improve on your odds(at least in the forecasting) by going to www.spaceweather.com . There they have some short-term forecasts for geomagnetic storms and some views on upcoming sunspot activity that might trigger future storms. FWIW, right now the sun is pretty clear of sunspots both on the near side and on the far side.