Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Winter Hiking

Thanks

Default Winter Hiking

Does anybody know of a place that I could get a list for what I should have in my pack etc. for winter hiking? I am in the process of getting snow shoes and microspikes. I have a really warm snow boarding jacket and ski pants that I assume will be good enough to hike with. I also have to get some good base layers. Any help onto where I can find a list or recommendations on what gear to have would be appreciated. This is my first attempt @ winter hiking. Thanks in advance.

Thanks

I found this list on EMS site the other night for their snowshow outing to Lonesome Lake Hut. Seems like a pretty good place to start.

Bags
    Daypack with rain cover (2,000-3,000cu in)
    Waterproof compression sack (to keep cloths dry)

Body
    Insulated jacket (waterproof)
    Insulated pants (waterproof)
    Fleece pullover
    Fleece pants
    Long underwear
    3 long sleeved shirts (Techwick or other wicking material)

Hands
    Glove liners
    Insulated gloves
    Hand warmers

Feet
    Winter hiking boots (Gore-Tex)
    Gaiters (optional)
    3 pairs of socks (synthetic or wool blend)

Head
    Hat (wool or fleece)
    Sunglasses
    Balaclava

Other Equipment
    Hydration system (camelback & bladder or 2 one liter water bottles)
    Headlamp or flashlight
    Bandana
    Camera
    Sleeping bag (32 degree or lower)
    Toiletries (including baby wipes, ear plugs, toothbrush/paste, deodorant, etc?)
    Plastic garbage bag and zip lock bag
    Book, playing cards, iPod, evening entertainment
    Trekking poles (provided upon request)
    Snowshoes (provided upon request)

Food & Drink
    Water, hydration mix, gels, energy bars
    Lunch & snacks (sandwich, trail mix, fruit, etc?)
    Summit Club Member
    Seek the Peak 11
    Seek the Peak 10: Lions Head/Tuckermans Ravine
    Seek the Peak 09: Boot Spur (redux)
    Seek the Peak 08: Huntington Ravine