Thread: sleeping bag?

Hybrid View

Thanks

Default sleeping bag?

I am going to be replacing my 15 degree synthetic sleeping bag. Question is... do I stick with a synthetic or go with a 15 degree down this time? I'm always in either a tent, shelter, or lean to. What does everyone use for a sleeping bag when up in the whites?

Thanks

I'm not an expert, but I've gone through 3 bags myself trying to find the right one. Seems like the biggest question is that if you think you'll ever need to be concerned about wet conditions. If you like to hike in the rain, or sleep in places where it might get really damp, etc, then synth is the way to go without a doubt.

If you avoid the rain like the plague and pretty good about keeping your bag sealed up and your pack dry, then down.

I recently picked up a 15? Mont-Bel from backcountry.com and I finally have a bag that I really like. Its comfortable enough for those of us that can't sleep in a mummy shape bag, yet still compresses rather compact for a 15? synth. I'd highly recommend it.
    Summit Club Member
    Seek the Peak 11
    Seek the Peak 10: Lions Head/Tuckermans Ravine
    Seek the Peak 09: Boot Spur (redux)
    Seek the Peak 08: Huntington Ravine
    Seek the Peak 07: Tuckermans Ravine/Lions Head
    My 48: Washington (07/07, 07/08, 07/09, 09/09, 07/10), Lafayette (08/08, 08/09), Lincoln (08/08, 08/09), Pierce (07/10), Carrigain (09/10), Cannon (10/10), Jackson (11/10), Field (11/10), Tom (01/11)

Thanks

I'm with Bluedog. A 15 degree bag is mostly for around/above 32 degree trips and water and condensation can be a major problem (especially in the NorthEast). For a winter bag I hem and haw about down versus synth., but for 3 season bags I go synthetic.

Thanks