Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new to hiking

Thanks

Default new to hiking

last summer some friends and i did some hiking for the first time. we conquered mt. hale, which was not fun and had i known there was NO view at the top would of never climbed it. i mean, the view is what it's all about, it's your reward at the end! we also did mt. willard which was a piece of cake and had a very nice view. i plan on doing more this summer and i am thinking of attempting mt. washington. so my question to you experts is what should i expect? what should i bring? and when is the best time to climb it? also, i am an avid photographer and would like to bring my "nice camera" with me to the top, however i don't want the extra weight on my back or it to get damaged should the weather change and it rains, so i'm wondering how others pack their cameras? any tips and info welcomed!
    thanks!

Thanks

Welcome to the forums! I have to agree, a rewarding view can definitely make or break a hike, but there is a lot to enjoy in the forest even on a view-less hike. Before doing Washington, you may want to attempt a similar, but less extreme hike such as the Franconia Ridge (this one has spectacular views, so if you get the right weather you'll definitely love it). The weather can be nasty on Mt. Washington any month of the year, so in some respects its a game of luck. You'll want to start early in the morning to allow the most daylight to complete your hike in - Mt. Washington is a full day hike, so make sure you're aware of this in advance. I don't have a "nice" camera, so I usually just keep it in its case inside my backpack...I used to carry it in my pocket during summer hikes, but after tripping and scraping its casing on Mt. Avalon I like to play it safe. I'm sure others on this forum will have a lot of information to offer as well, but if you know what to expect and you go prepared, you could end up having the greatest time of your life.

Thanks