Thread: Foggy Day in Pawtuckaway 12/31/11

Thanks

Default Foggy Day in Pawtuckaway 12/31/11

Middle Mountain 985' and South Mountain 1011'

1050' Elevation gain 5.5 Miles

Kevin, Judy, Emma and Blue

I've been making hiking trips to Pawtuckaway for almost thirty years now. I discovered it as a campground when I got out of the Air Force and made many memorable camping trips with three young boys who I watched grow up on the shores of Pawtuckaway Lake. We camped, fished and hiked. It was good post military rehab for me. Nearly thirty years later it is still good rehab. This past weekend was a good example. While just getting over a nasty bout with the flu I was able to spend New Year's Eve Day in the woods with some favorite trail companions. Despite all the visits over the years we always manage to find new territory to cover, or something new we haven't yet seen in the woods. This trip was no different. The woods were damp with a thick, heavy fog. Not feeling my best, unsure of the roads with freezing issues and the fact that the mountains were wrapped in the same heavy fog and poor visibility made the short trip to Pawtuckaway very inviting on this day. Pawtuckaway reminds me that not everything has to be an epic adventure. It feels like home...

Glacial erratics...

On the way to South Mountain

Damp dogs...

Short scramble...

Middle Mountain Road

Rocks and dogs

Rocks and Ice

Full set of pics HERE:
    KDT

2. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to KD Talbot For This Useful Post:

Anna LeBlanc (01-07-2012), Charlie (01-08-2012), KathyC (01-08-2012), Snow Miser (01-05-2012)

Thanks

It's increible how those huge boulders are just scattered around, I bet they could tell a story of how they got there. What was in the tree with the picture titled, Geo Cachet?

Thanks